The “New Me”

January 9, 2012 § Leave a comment

It’s a new year. And I spent the last two months of the old year waiting for this new year. To say I was ready for 2012 is an understatement. With every fibre of my being, I wished for 2012 to come faster. 2011 was probably the most difficult year of my life, as well as my wonderful DH’s life. PB1 (Precious Boy 1) and PB2 (Precious Boy 2) had no idea how challenged Mommy and Daddy were on a daily basis.

So welcome to the new me. I spent December really thinking about how I wanted to change in 2012. All of December. I want to change how I look. I want to change how I parent. I want to change the kind of wife that I am. I want to change the kind of Christian I am. Making New Years’ resolutions seemed futile, since nobody keeps them, and it was overwhelming to see that I wanted to change every single aspect of my life.

My husband is in the exact same boat as I am – he wanted to change everything as well. So I adopted a new phrase for the year. I’m going to “try harder”. It seems simple. It seems like it’s a cop-out. We all know the famous phrase – “do or do not, there is no try”. In my case, there is a try. I know I’m not going to succeed in every thing I put my hands to change. At least not the first time. Or the second time. But I am going to try. I’m going to try to change how I look (started P90x yesterday, and b0y does it burn!). I’m going to try to change how I parent (I spent an hour cuddled with PB1 on the couch watching Animal Mechanicals, and the Saveums this morning). I’m going to try to change the kind of wife that I am (I am working on not griping for nothing, and putting more effort into loving and encouraging), and I’m definitely working on being a better Christian (waking up before my kids – HUGE sacrifice for me, and spending time with God before anything else).

This blog is about me becoming new. That’s why it’s a metamorphosis. I want it to be a complete and total change for our family. We are eating healthier – which means I am making more from scratch. We are spending less money – which means we are doing more at home. We are changing how we look – together. We are changing our marriage – together. We are changing our kids – together.

A lot of people think the problem with the world is the breakdown of the American family. I tend to agree. We are reinstating the “American Family”. We are a family first. We are individuals second.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The “New Me” at Family Metamorphosis.

meta

