Laundry Detergent!

January 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

Yes, I am one of those “weirdos” who makes their own laundry detergent. It saves us ridiculous amounts of money, and it really works. So why not? It even gets my husband’s nasty work clothes clean, and my 11 month old’s dirty cloth diapers. With no issue. The only thing I miss is the beautiful perfumey scent that you get from store bought laundry detergent. Am I going to pay 10x more though, to get that scent? Uh… no. My mom has been asking me to post my recipe so here I go:

1 cup borax

1 cup washing soda

1 cup baking soda

1 bar of ivory soap, grated finely

 

Mix together, and voila! Laundry detergent.

 

For fabric softener, I’ve received a few tips from friends. You can use vinegar instead of softener in the wash. If you use fabric softener sheets and would prefer to continue that, you can cut a sponge in half and dip it in diluted fabric softener and throw that in your dryer.

 

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Laundry Detergent! at Family Metamorphosis.

meta

