A Hard Day

February 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

 

Yesterday was  a hard day. I have a very busy almost 3 year old who has good days and bad days. Yesterday was a bad day. I have a number of bruises, I had a headache, I was in pain in other ways, and my children must have known. They decided to be busier than I’ve ever seen them. They knew I couldn’t catch them.

When afternoon naptime came, I could finally breathe. Granted, DS1 did not sleep. He “played” in his room for two hours instead. Anyway, when I put the kids down for a nap, I went outside to go get the mail. It was a beautiful day here yesterday – the sun was bright and high in the sky and there wasn’t a cloud to be seen. It was my favourite weather – cool enough that you need a sweatshirt, but not so cold that you’re freezing in the meantime. And as I walked out my front door, I looked into my yard and saw crocuses. For some reason, my husband thinks that crocuses are weeds. Probably because they spread pretty easily, and they keep coming back. But I think they’re beautiful. And they go through a lot – especially ours. My husband digs them up, he mows them down, he plays football on top of them… yet they keep coming back. Over and over and over again.

Those crocuses reminded me of life. We can be stomped down. We can feel like we can’t take anything else. It feels like everything has gone wrong and absolutely nothing has gone right. It feels like the whole universe is against us. But we are like the crocuses. God gives us strength over and over again – to push through the dirt and grow again. And like the crocuses, we grow stronger after we’ve been abused and beaten down.

I love my crocuses. Now if only I could keep my husband from mowing them down…

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Hard Day at Family Metamorphosis.

meta

