The New Me

March 21, 2012 § Leave a comment

 

I don’t want this to be a weight loss blog. I really don’t. But of all the things that I want to change about myself, weight loss seems to make the top of the list over and over again. And it shouldn’t. There are so many other things that are far more important than losing weight. Like becoming a better mother, a better wife, a better child of God. But society keeps hammering the weight thing at us again and again and again. I’m not fat. I’m not a plus size. But I am bigger than what society deems “thin”. And it’s true. I’m not thin. But lets face it here. I had two children twenty months apart. With my first, I gained an astronomical amount of weight, especially considering my 5’2” frame. And while I lost the weight that was “baby”, the rest never went away.

I have thirty pounds I’d like to melt off. And I don’t know how to do that. Correction. I don’t want to do what’s necessary to make that happen. I started P90X (as you will remember from the beginning of the blog), and my husband and I diligently ate and worked out for 30 days. And I lost no weight. My shape did begin to change slightly, but no weight was lost.

Does anybody else want to take a magic little pill, wake up the next morning and immediately be losing 5 or 10 pounds every week? Just by taking the magic pill? But that’s not how it works. It’s diet AND exercise. Diet and exercise. Diet and exercise.

I went for a run on Monday. That’s right. A  run. Well, mostly a walk. But come on, I haven’t ever in my entire life gone on a “run”. I walked, and then I ran, and then I walked and then I ran. Every time I ran, my two year old would yell “Faster, Mommy! Faster!” and my 13 month old would turn in the stroller and start crying.

Today, once the kids are in bed, I’m going to do Cardio X. I don’t want to. I might throw something at Tony Horton. I might yell at him. I might scream at my husband. I might scream at my older, precious son, who is the cause of the majority of the weight gain. But ultimately, the way to lose weight is diet and exercise. Diet and exercise.  Diet and exercise.

For dinner? Pork loin, smashed potatoes with Greek yogurt instead of butter and cream & homemade gravy, steamed broccoli, and a salad with homemade dressing. Too bad diet alone couldn’t make me lose thirty pounds. I’d sure like to take the magic pill.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The New Me at Family Metamorphosis.

meta

