Saying Goodbye

April 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

 

This is my great-grandmother. She was 101. She passed away in the night, on April 23. Mother (as we called her) was one of the strongest, most precious people I have ever known. I feel so blessed to have known her personally and intimately myself, unlike many people out there who do not know their relatives at all. She has been personally precious to me, not just a distant relative who I have heard stories about.

Mother has personally kissed my owies, handed me buckets or jars to catch frogs with, given me advice – mostly to be obedient to my parents. She has prayed for me. Most of all, I know she has prayed for me. Every day, she prayed for each of her children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, and great-great grandchildren by name. Mother has been such a precious gift. I wish my children had a chance to know her as I did.

Realistically, I understand that living to 130 so that her great-great grandchildren can know her is a tad unrealistic. I truly feel as though I know my great-uncle, who passed away at the age of 10 – 20 years before I was born – because my mother has talked so freely about him. I know my children will also feel as though they know Mother, as well as Papa (my grandfather) because of the memories I keep alive.

These people in our lives are precious gifts. I want to always make sure I don’t take them for granted. I want to appreciate every moment I get with the people God has given me. Family is precious. Don’t take it for granted.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Saying Goodbye at Family Metamorphosis.

meta

