Beginning the Homeschooling Journey

May 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

 

Now that DS1 (aka Monkey Boy) is three (Happy Birthday Little Man!), we are starting to think about the homeschooling journey we are planning to undertake. There are so many options and I don’t know where to begin!

I read blogs of these incredible women who have four or eight or eleven children and they homeschool all of these fabulous kids. And some of them have a relaxed schooling system, and others have the most incredible school in their home that you’ve ever seen! I think I’ll be somewhere inbetween.

Firstly can I say… I am excited to homeschool in part because I love school supplies. The best time of year for me as a kid was getting new school supplies. The years my mom told me that I still had enough left over from last year were so sad. I love paper and pens and sticky things and magnets and binders and crayons and coloured pencils and tape and glue and scissors. I wish I had hundreds and hundreds of dollars to go to the office supply store and buy buy buy!

I do know that I’d like to start some kind of preschool with Monkey Boy. He’s such a good learner on his own – he picks things up way faster than if I try and teach him. So I know it’s going to require some creativity to teach him effectively – not only now, but as he grows  up and gets older and starts more advanced schooling as well. He’s going to have to think it’s his own idea, this whole learning experience.

I love the idea of magnet boards, cutting activities, bingo dabber activities, etc. But how to make these things into an effective homeschooling program? I don’t know yet. I guess I know what I’ll be doing this summer!

Homeschooling moms out there – help! Give me your ideas!

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beginning the Homeschooling Journey at Family Metamorphosis.

meta

