Dreams

June 19, 2012 § 1 Comment

I have dreams for the future. They’re not grand dreams. They’re not out of the ordinary. They aren’t dreams of diamonds and furs and movie stars. This is my dream for my family’s future.

I just want to settle in and live my life. I want a house – not an extravagant house, but a house that has enough space. I’m thinking 4 bedrooms – one for girls, one for boys, and one for my parents when they come and visit. I want a formal living room and a great room, and a BIG eat in kitchen, and a formal dining room that I would convert to a homeschool room. I want a basement – half of it would be used for wood (there are so many trees on the farm that fall naturally, we would heat our house with wood), and the other half would be used for whatever the kids want to do with it. A play room, workout room, fort building room, whatever, for in the winter.

I want a yard that’s fenced in so I can send the kids out, and have a nice big garden. I want to can my own veggies and make jam. I want to bake bread and sew cloth diapers. And I just want to live. I’d love for us to have some kind of home business that makes us enough money so my husband doesn’t have to work in the city, but he can start a church right there in town and that would be his only job. It sounds like a simple life, doesn’t it?

I want a big farmhouse table with a cream coloured bottom and a light pine top. A real farmhouse table. I want benches down the sides and chairs at the head and the foot. I want a big white farmhouse sink in the kitchen, and cream coloured shaker cabinets. I want cream coloured solid surface countertops, and wrought iron cabinet hardware. I want big sets of bunkbeds in the kids’ rooms, and a nice big giant bathroom in the middle between their bedrooms. Or maybe if I’m really lucky, a girls’ bathroom and a boys’ bathroom.

I want wide plank, hand scraped pine floors throughout the whole house with an array of rag rugs thrown on the floors of the bedrooms. I want lots of windows that let in lots of natural light, and I want a big giant wide porch on the back of the house facing the woods.

Does this sound extravagant? To me, it sounds like a simple, regular life. That’s what I want – a simple, regular life.

§ One Response to Dreams

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dreams at Family Metamorphosis.

meta

