A Life of Change

August 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

The leaves have just begun to change here in the Pacific Northwest. It seems a little early, but it is what it is. And the changing leaves have reminded me of something. I had determined to live a life of change.

I have made a few changes. But it’s not the metamorphosis I was desiring, or expecting. I don’t know if I had higher expectations for myself than I should have, or I was too lazy to live up to my own expectations. But here we are, almost September, and what have I really changed?

Sure, I’m more domestic. I bake more, and I clean more and I cook more. But more often than not I still find myself in pyjamas at 11 a.m. I do spend a bit more time with God, but has it greatly and seriously made a difference in my life? Mostly because I’m not allowing it to. I do spend a bit more time with my kids, but I am still frustrated with them, and I still have days where I want to rip out my hair.

Does this mean I haven’t made the metamorphosis I was desiring? Not necessarily. I am a work in progress. I have realized that I’ve let the metamorphosis go. I haven’t been determined lately to make change. And that needs to change. Change must be made!

I’m not entirely certain what this looks like. But I know it involves working out. Ugh. I hate working out. And I know it involves a possible technology fast. I also know it involves a whole lot of willpower that I seem to have a hard time mustering up. It may also mean moving to a  new house in a new location. Who knows? What I do know is that I am unhappy with my progress. I have not done what I set out to do. And that means something must change.

Where will the change take me? Your guess is as good as mine! Lets see where it goes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Life of Change at Family Metamorphosis.

meta

